American Welding Society ...

AWS boasts a Who's Who of presidents
Page 1, 1919 - 1961
Page 2, 1962 - 1999
Page 3, 2000 - 

2000 - 01, L. William Myers
As a new millennium dawned, Mr. Myers became the 74th president of the American Welding Society. He holds two degrees, a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering with a major in welding from the General Motors Institute, and a metallurgical engineering degree from Cleveland State University. The Dresser-Rand Turbo Products division in Olean, New York, is proud to employ him as a senior welding engineer.

2001 - 02, Richard L. Arn
After serving three terms as vice president, Mr. Arn was elected President of the Society. He brought to the position leadership skills honed through his years as president of Teletherm Technologies in East Liverpool, Ohio. After earning a degree in business and metallurgical engineering at Youngstown State University, Mr. Arn went to the Hobart School of Welding Technology for advanced education in materials joining.

2002 - 03, Ernest D. Levert
A graduate of The Ohio State University Welding Engineering department, Mr. Levert was the first African-American to serve as President of the American Welding Society. As Senior Staff Manufacturing Engineer at Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control in Dallas, Texas, he has demonstrated his knowledge of welding in many noteworthy projects, including the Army Tactical Missile System and the International Space Station. As a student, he served as chairman of the American Welding Society's OSU student chapter.

2003- 04, Thomas M. Mustaleski
Mr. Mustaleski's work as a research staff member in the Development Division of the Oak Ridge Y-12 Plant of BWXT-Y12 LLC, in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, has made him an expert in welding metallurgy and process and procedure development. He has published more than 20 papers on joining research and development. In 2000, Mr. Mustaleski was elected to become a Fellow of the Society, a designation established by AWS in 1990 to recognize members for their distinguished contributions to the field of welding science and technology.

2004 - 05, James E. Greer
Mr. Greer is a professor and coordinator of the welding program at Moraine Valley Community College, Palos Hills, Illinois, where he introduces students to the welding industry. In addition to his educational responsibilities, Mr. Greer is president of Techno-Weld Welding Consultants. He is a graduate of Chicago State University's Master of Science program.

2005 - 06, Damian J. Kotecki
Dr. Kotecki is technical director for stainless steel and high alloy product development at the Lincoln Electric Company.  He received his PhD in mechanical engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.  He is an AWS Fellow and a registered Professional Engineer.  He has authored several technical publications and holds patents in the area of arc welding filler metals.  He has been active in IIW activities since 1978, and has received many awards and recognitions from AWS and other associations.

2007, Gerald D. Uttrachi
Mr. Uttrachi, an AWS Life Member, is president of WA Technology, LLC. The firm sells his patented device that effects major cost savings during welding by minimizing shielding gas losses. Previously, he served as a development engineer, project engineer, welding materials, laboratory manager, and director of welding market development for Linde Div. of Union Carbide Corp. He was vice president of marketing for LTEC Welding & Cutting Systems, then vice president of equipment marketing for ESAB Welding & Cutting Products. Throughout his career in the welding industry, Mr. Uttrachi has been involved with the development of automatic welding processes and welding materials. He has published numerous technical papers on welding processes and filler metals. He holds master’s degrees in mechanical engineering and business management from New Jersey Institute of Technology. He serves as chair of the AWS Foundation.

2008, Gene E. Lawson
Mr. Lawson has been an AWS member since 1974. He received a degree in commercial art/advertising from Colorado Institute of Art. He continued his education at Denver Community College, specializing in welding and metallurgy. At Chemetron Corp., he specialized in sales of welding consumables and equipment. In 1975, he moved to southern California as Chemetron’s regional sales manager. Later, Chemetron became Alloy Rods Corp., and then part of ESAB Welding & Cutting Products. Mr. Lawson was ESAB’s territory sales manager for southern California, Arizona, and Hawaii. He has served several terms as chairman of the Los Angeles Section, served three years as a director-at-large, and two terms as District 21 director. He has taken the CWI preparation course and proctored CWI examinations. Mr. Lawson also served on the advisory board at Orange Coast College.

2009, Victor Y. Matthews
Mr. Matthews, an AWS Distinguished Member, was a member of the Cleveland Section for 39 years. He began his career at The Lincoln Electric Co. in 1963 as a bend brake operator. He attended Lincoln'w elding school and earned all of the diplomas it had to offer. He progressed to work in the Electrode Research and Development group for 13 years. Mr. Matthews moved to the manufacturing facility as plant welding engineer where he worked for 12 years. He automated many workstations and put into production the company’s first-ever welding robot for piecework. In 1990, he joined the Service Department with responsibility for engine-driven welding machines. In 1992, he was assigned responsibility for Cleveland-manufactured consumable products worldwide. Lincoln recognized him with its Man of the Year Award in 1995. He is the past president of the Lincoln Electric Employee’s Association and Sick Benefit Fund. Mr. Matthews also is a past chairman of the Cleveland Section.

2010, John Bruskotter
Mr. Bruskotter has operated Bruskotter Consulting Services since 2004, working for an independent oil and gas operator. Previously, he worked as a project manager with Dynamic Industries, Inc. From 1986 to 2000, he was employed with Houma Industries, Inc., where his positions included fabrication and quality control manager, vice president of operations onshore, offshore fabrication and coatings, and warehousing and maintenance. Mr. Bruskotter joined the AWS New Orleans Section in 1993, where he served as its treasurer and vice chair. From 1999 to 2000, he served as both the Section chairman and District 9 deputy director.

Page 1, 1919 - 1961
Page 2, 1962 - 1999
Page 3, 2000 -