Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / Rig Welders
- - By KGabbert Date 12-08-2006 03:35
Hi,I was wondering if anyone might have any advice on rig welding.I have a brand new Lincoln GXT 10,000 that I bought a few months ago.I initially bought it for personal use and small jobs around my area.
I have been welding for about 8 years now (usually standing on my head) I have been running shutdowns for about 10 years. I got a call from Industrial Power and got a rig welding job offer in Wyoming,it pays $23 an hour for the hand,$20 an hour for the rig and $10 an hour per diem.Is this usually the going rate?
Would I need a tax I.D. number? I am really interested in pursuing this but am a stranger to this type of work.I have welded some pipe and am going to practice a whole lot more. They have a 6 G test that I am not sure I could pass right now. I am not even very familiar with pipe terms,or the tricks of the trade concerning pipe welding. Absolutely any information on running your own rig would be extremely helpful.

Thanks
Kevin Gabbert
Parent - By Joseph P. Kane (****) Date 12-08-2006 13:02
I think you will find that you need to gross $50.00 per hour to run a business, make truck & equipment payments, keep enough special business insurance coverage, have a realistic emergency reserve fund, and keep up with the changing costs of your own special medical insurance.  Salary is on top of that.  If you want to apply your salary into the cost of operation, because you have the "dream of being self employed", this can be done.