Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / NDT level 1
- - By Stallsmith (*) Date 01-12-2007 18:36
I went to three years of welding school, worked as a lead welder for a Fab shop for almost 10 years and I am in my third year teaching Welding Technology at a Career and Technical School.  I am taking the CWI exam this summer.  There is a big difference in being able to weld and knowing all the technical aspects of it.  I am confident though that I have the knowledge.

My question is perhaps a dumb one but I can't seem to find the information I need about it.  Does the CWI cert give you the NDT level 1?  If not how does one get that credential and what is involved?  Further what are the criteria for level 2 and level 3?

Perhaps someone can lead me to a website or somewhere I could get this information.

Thanks

Jim
Parent - - By hogan (****) Date 01-12-2007 19:19
these are two totally different cert categories. cwi is by aws, ndt level I, II, & III are by asnt. the cwi will not give you any credit toward ndt           ( maybe vt). all the required info for getting ndt certs can be found in ASNT-TC-1A. you will need a combination of classroom training, and on the job training working under a certified ndt tech. in ndt i believe there are about 9 methods to get certified in, from magnetic particle, to x-ray, to infared thermography. your best bet would be to get a copy of asnt-tc-1a or call a local testing lab and talk to the manager about what your looking for.
Parent - - By new tito (***) Date 01-12-2007 20:49
Hogan is absolutely correct.  I may add the following points though.