Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Welding Reels???
- - By Harvard (*) Date 01-13-2007 18:44
Hello all. Well, I would like to say hi and my name is Chris and I am a welder for a coal company in eastern ohio. I do have a welding truck its a 1997 GMC 6500 with a 6000lb crane and Lincoln SA-250 D. And, right now I have on bin just holding my welding leads and extension cords. And, well, I would just like to clean it up and build some reels for my stinger and work leads. Also, I would like to put my torch hose in there also. Do you guys have any ideas on how to build them? Like connecting the leads and torch hose to reel and not kink up? Or any prints or something? Help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Chris
Parent - - By makeithot (***) Date 01-14-2007 02:35
I am currently looking in to the same thing myself. I have build some rolls in the past that worked quit well , but I had to plug and un-plug the leads in the past. I am now trying to design some thing that does not require this. It all boils down to economics. If you have the money though there are alot of manufatured reels on the market that look real nice, but they come with a nice price tag as well $1000.00 plus per unit. I can't justify the expence they are however good insperation . If a guy had access to a lath though skies the limit. Bunch welding reels into the internet and there is tons of things to see. As soon as I get mine put together I will post some pics. I have however slightly modified a self winding oxy-acetln reel that I picked up from a tool store (Princess Auto don't thing you have that in the states) $200.00 and it works great and what I like is you don't have to wind it by hand. It however only holds 75ft of lead so I carry extra in the truck for when I need it Which as yet as not been a problem as I use QD's through-out the system. let me know how you make out.