Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / SMAW corrosion resistant overlay on c.s.
- - By grhamltn Date 02-08-2001 22:25
I'm looking for info on smaw corrosion overlay on plain c.s., with Inconel 625. I'm new to the welding field, and have to do a wps and pqr using a 3/16 rod overlaid on 2.5" plate..... any concerns, or things to think about? I'm a little "green".....???

The welder I'm working with is very experienced, and he wants to get started with the 3/16 rod, at 165-175 A, 25-28V and 8-10 in /min.

Side bend test will apply, as well as a chemical analysis. At what depth could I expect to find an acceptable chemistry with the above settings?

If anyone already has a procedure, I'd certainly appreciate it. I'm qualifying it to ASME section IX.

Thanks in advance of any info!!
Parent - - By Niekie Date 02-21-2001 13:41
Just a number of issues that need to be clarified: 1) Are you welding with the SMAW (Also called stick or MMA) process? This is what you indicated, but the the filler trade name you used (Inconel 625) is actually a bare rod typically used for the GTAW process. As GTAW is rarely used for overlays, I assume that you are talking about SMAW. In this case, the corresponding INCO trade name would be Inconel 112. (2)What material composition are you finally aiming for? You need to know this, to be able to calculate the number of layers of overlay to deposit. Once you have given this info, it will be easier to give further guidance.

Regards
Niekie Jooste
Parent - - By grhamltn Date 02-27-2001 21:46
Thanks for your response, I do appreciate it.

We are using 112 smaw on carbon steel plate, A 516 GR 70, 1.125 thick.

The chemistry should end up as inconel 625, and the welder here wants to do it with one layer, using a 3/16" rod. Can this be done? We have already qualified a procedure using 1/8" rod E 112 using 2 or 3 layers to get the overlay and chemistry necessary.