Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Can't get nice-looking TIG welds on steels
- - By mike944 (*) Date 01-17-2007 13:32
Hey guys.

Just a garage-welder here.  I don't weld profesionally (actually, i'm a mechanical engineer)  I've never even had any welding classes, and i a little ticked that i can't seem to find any in my area, but that's a separate topic entirely.

Here's my problem.

i can't seem to make "pretty" TIG welds in ferrous metals.  I can get good penetration, and smooth beads, but they always end up looking kind of scaley.  If i brush them, and polish them, they look good, but i see professionaly done welds that look good without it.    In fact, this weekend i was welding some 304 SS (with 308 rod) for an exhaust system repair on my car, and it came out scaley (big surprise there).     I assume it means i'm either putting too much heat into the metal, or i'm not getting good shielding gas coverage, right?   But, if i travel faster, i can't get the good penetration.  Changing the gas flow rate, or tungsten stick-out doesn't seem to have any effect, so i think my shielding gas is ok.

I can get nice looking welds in aluminum, so i think my technique is at least decent.

Any ideas what i'm doing wrong?
Parent - By dmilesdot (**) Date 01-17-2007 14:31
Scaley looking welds are usually a product of impurities in the puddle that float to the top of the puddle and solidify. Are you cleaning the filler wire prior to welding? As well as cleaning the oxidation off of the base metal?
Parent - - By SWP (**) Date 01-17-2007 15:17
Assuming a shielding problem.
1.  This may sound crazy, but make sure you are using Argon shielding gas, I've heard of several beginner TIG welders that have mistakenly been sold or somehow end up using a MIG gas mixture with CO2 or O2 additions.