Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / Welder before CWI
- - By QCCWI (***) Date 01-22-2007 21:42
How many people think before you can be a CWI you have to be a welder?
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 01-22-2007 21:47
Valuable to be a welder

Not essencial
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 01-22-2007 22:24
I agree with Lawrence...it helps, but not totally necessary. If you understand some of the struggles of welding, you will be a better inspector because you will know where to look for problem areas while inspecting.
Parent - - By chuck meadows (***) Date 01-22-2007 22:41
I agree with Lar and John. When you walk in the shoes of ones your are critiqueing, it gives added respect.
Parent - - By hogan (****) Date 01-22-2007 23:07
i guess i'm the only one that doese not agree. if it is that important than it would be mentioned in qc1. i was an inspector for 5 years befor a started welding. it changed nothing about my inspection practices. you eather have the ability and knowledge or you don't. if you can't hang you probably won't pass the test. if you can pass the test, but not perform the work, it will be appearent to all.
Parent - - By QCCWI (***) Date 01-22-2007 23:29
Ok I know how to weld been doing it for over 15 years. I had a person tell me the other day that only a welder could be a weld inspector. His said it was because the weld inspector has to tell the welder how to fix what is wrong with the weld. I keep telling him it is not my job or any weld inspector to tell a welder how to fix a bad weld.  If I as the weld inspector have to tell a "welder" how to fix a weld there is a problem because a welder should know how to fix the weld. No one is perfect so welders will occasionally leave bad welds but when told a weld is bad the welder should have the knowledge and the skills to fix it without being told how.
Parent - By new tito (***) Date 01-23-2007 00:18