Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / How best to weld aluminum
- - By hawgwild Date 02-10-2001 23:28
I'm trying to build several intake manifolds for a twin cylinder engine. I've made the flanges from 5/16ths aluminum plate and I'm going to use some heavy wall aluminum tube for the runners. What's the best way a guy in a home shop can weld aluminum. I used to weld for a living years ago and I have a 110v, 100amp MIG welder set up with 023 steel wire and Co2 gas, oxy-acetylene torch and a small 110v, 70 amp stick welder. Which one of these welders could be used or converted to weld aluminum? Can the MIG be converted to run aluminum wire? And how will it feed without a spool gun? If I can convert it I know I'll need a different gas than Co2, what would be best? How about gas welding or stick welding aluminum? Is it possible? And what about this stuff called Dura Fix, that "welds" or brazes aluminum using a propane torch? Does it work good? Would it stand up to the heat and vibration of a large displacement v-twin motorcycle engine?

Any info would be appreciated.

Chuck
Parent - - By guy (*) Date 02-11-2001 06:24
[deleted]
Parent - - By John H. UK (*) Date 02-11-2001 13:24
Hi Chuck,