Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / In-House Training
- - By Southpaw (*) Date 01-26-2007 03:38
I'm in the last class for completing an associate's degree in welding technology. This is an English class and one of the requirements is that I write a technical report. My report of course would be on welding. Have been in the welding field about 30 years with a CWI\CWE certification and a UT level 2. Working for a fairly large company building sheet steel bodies that go on utility trucks. Our plant is located in a small county just outside a small town. I work as a Quality Technician with the primary job of training welders to our main process which is GMAW. The reason for this is that there is no pool of welders in the area at all.  The plant is only a year old. I have set up a very nice weld training center to do in-plant weld training. I have said all of this to bring me to the thought of writing my report on in-house weld training and the success that we have achieved from this. Without having to put out a survey my hope is that I might get a response from some of you. My question is in that if I write this report would there be an interest in the weld industry for a person, let say a fabrication Management who might be in the same boat that I'm in, that would pick up and read a how-to journal on this subject. I know of another plant that faces the same problems that I have encountered, are there a lot more out there etc.? If you have any incite on this mater or just an opinion I would very much like to here from you. Thanks.                     
Parent - - By jon20013 (*****) Date 01-26-2007 12:45