Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / repair of k sec of wf beam
- - By vakoch Date 02-07-2007 03:58
Can anyome tell me where I can find Info. on weld repair in k sec. of A592-50 wide flange beam.
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 02-07-2007 12:32
What exactly are you doing/repairing? Give some specific details so we can have more to go on when replying to your question. We repair WF sections on a regular basis, so maybe we can help. (ASTM A572-Gr 50)?
Parent - - By vakoch Date 02-07-2007 13:03
wide flange beam has a gash in the web about 1 1/2" wide by 18" long and 1/4" deep beam is a A572-50 size w 21 x 50 most of the gash is in k area as aisc gives 1 5/16" as K.
As being an Inspector I have been told the rule is no welding in K. But I can't find this in aws d1.1, aisc green book or ASTM.
Need Info. on this repair and welding in K area.
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 02-07-2007 14:38
I don't think that you will find that recomendation in D1.1 or in the AISC's green book. I remember that phrase also, but I can't place my finger on the black and white (in ink) version of it. I did remember FEMA 350 or 353 addressing this in regards to web doubler design and trying to avoid welding in that area. However I seem to member if welding of the "k" was unavoidable to use PT or MT (after the material cooled back to ambient) to check for soundness and cracking.

Now with all that said, if I was the fabricator and I had to make a repair of that size to a stock piece of V50 W21x50, I would just replace it. It isn't an uncommon size or a hard to get section, and the worry of testing and getting the repair approved and OK'd for use, just isn't worth it.