Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Welding Career?
- - By brewboy Date 02-07-2007 14:05
Hello everyone! Wasn't sure if this is where to post or not!! I am brand new to this forum and to the thought of totally changing career paths. I am a 34yr old who has worked in accounting for quite sometime now and just flat worn out from the desk job. I am the type of person that has to always be working with his hands as I love to fiddle with things and I was an ex-golf professional. I am really thinking about going to school to learn the trade of welding. I am in the Atlanta area and would like to find out if welding is currently a great career in this area and what sort of welding I could get into? I don't like heights much more then about 5 stories up, so doing crane or multi story building welds would pretty much be out of the question for me. Any help or advice any of you could give would be great!!! Also, what sort of money can be made in this profession? And is schooling the best way to get started? The areas of study for the program I am looking at are:
Areas of Skills and Knowledge
* Welding shielded metal arc
* Gas metal arc
* Gas tungsten arc
* Oxyacetylene torch and plasma cutting

Thanks so very much!!!
Parent - - By yorkiepap (***) Date 02-07-2007 14:43
Hey brewboy,