Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Dynasty 200 surface contamination issue - need help!
- - By waltworks Date 03-06-2007 19:09
Guys -

I'm hoping someone here will have some ideas for me. I'm a bike builder, and a TIG welder, and I've recently (in the last several months) started having troubles with both my Maxstar150STR and Dynasty200 (both air/inverter machines).

The original thread (on a bike building forum) is here, along with some pictures: http://www.frameforum.net/forum2/index.php?showtopic=2938

Here's the original post:

Ok, at this point, this issue has confounded me, the good folks at General Air, my old welding instructor, and everyone else I could think of to ask. Looking for any kind of weird idea at this point - I am baffled.

The symptoms: I'm getting greyish, lumpy deposits on the surface of my tig welds. Glowing embers are visible in the weld pool while welding, as well. Clearly, something non-inert is getting to the weld, but I'm stumped at this point as to what it might be. The arc also has a tendency to wander and is relatively hard to control. Strength of the joint seems unaffected - I've done some destructive testing to make sure. But the appearance is sub-par from what I'm used to doing. I'll try to post a picture or two tomorrow.

Solutions I've tried with no effect, in no particular order:
-Check (no leaks) then replace regulator, all hoses, torch body and parts.
-Replace entire welder (hey, I always wanted a Dynasty anyway...)
-Use different type (ceriated and thoriated), size (3/32 and 1/16), and brand of tungsten.
-Use different gas cups and lenses of all different sizes.
-Change argon flow rate to torch from as low as 5cfh to as high as 35.
-Replace argon tank (multiple times) and try argon from another supplier.
-Replace tungsten grinding wheel with new ($$) diamond wheel.