Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Bag of Tools?
- - By SuperheroR08 Date 03-16-2007 16:34
I'm a second year welding student and i love it i wanna do it for the rest of my life. I can not see myself in no other job beside in a welding shop or a shipyard. To the point i am going after a apprenticeship at a shipyard to start me off in my career. I want to work as a full time t.i.g welder i enjoy t.i.g welding the most so why not do what you love? And i am wondering What are some good tools to start picking up I got my auto darking mask, and a chipping hammer, wire brush, gloves, jacket, safety glasses, hard hat. I have been told that the shipyard lets you use there tools and what not but i like having my own stuff what are some other helpful tools i can look into getting? My teacher showed us a needle gun today that was fun =) Thanks for any help.
Parent - By TimGary (****) Date 03-16-2007 18:24
I recommend that after school, you seek out a job in a decent looking shop as a pipe fitters tacker/helper, and learn how to both fit and weld.
This will help you understand how the piping systems actually work and will help you break out into the welding field. It's better than college because you're getting paid to learn.
My definition of a combination welder is a hand that can fit and weld his own fits. This is the kind of hand that can be sent on a job by himself, and get it done. This is the kind of hand that never has trouble finding work, makes top pay and always gets the sweet jobs. That's becasue he's a valuable asset to any employer.
Check out the web site:

http://www.pipefitter.com/pfind.html

There you can get both the books that you will need after school, Such as the ones by W.V. Graves,