Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / xray truck
- - By Sourdough (****) Date 03-23-2007 02:07
Last week I was working on a completion job, and the company wanted to use, (overkill), sch 160 2" on a 3k psi well. The sub contractor that hired me was put out, and told me, "just two pass that sumbitch and get her together so we can throw it in the ground!" I told him "I cant do that but you're free to hire another welder that would come out here and do just that!" He peeled out and I was free to go back to work.

After making about 6 code welds on the main production line, an xray truck showed up on location. I'll be damned if they didn't camp out for 2 days and xray every single one of my 160 pipe welds. Thank goodness I am a true professional!!!

ps. not a single flaw was mentioned - HAW!!!!

Never sacrifice quality, that's why people hire us!
Parent - By medicinehawk (**) Date 03-23-2007 09:48
Way to go, SD!
It's good to know there are some around who always stick to their principles.
Quality first.
you get what you get for production.
Well done.
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 03-23-2007 12:21
See quality work makes the NDT guys very happy, because they can shoot, develope and move on. The paperwork is cut tremendously when the work is found to be clean. You not only did yourself a favor, but everybody that follows in behind you....Good Job!

I have some healthy columns that I'm UT'ing this morning 45*, 60*, and 70* scans and so far everything is coming out great! This cuts my time spent with these rascals considerably. All this makes the production managers here very happy, because you know it's "my fault" when I'm holding up a piece of material that needs to get on the truck to be shipped out, while in reality if the piece is clean, there is no delay...so quality first pays big in the end!
Parent - By makeithot (***) Date 03-23-2007 16:21
SD,