Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / UT questions
- - By arcboy (*) Date 03-25-2007 22:34
I am a CWI as of for less than a year in the Charlotte, NC area.  This is my 7th year in the industry and I currently weld on military parts, fab and production type products, I have an AAS in welding technology.  I had the chance to teach at the community college I graduated in MI and fell in love with it.  I have a second interview at a community college tuesday as a welding instructor(part-time only).  This college has a new NDT program starting in august.  My question is should I take the instructor position if offered and stay welding everyday until I get a 1 year certificate in UT?  Then go on my own as a UT inspector with my own equipment.  Or do what I know I love to teach and hope it becomes full time soon?

Another question is that is doing UT inspection worth it on my own or under a employer?

How much does some good high tech UT equipment cost?

I would like to start my own business because right now making 15.00 at a poorly managed company is not worth it considering I has a associates degree and my CWI.

I appreciate all of your experience help.
Parent - - By CWI555 (*****) Date 03-26-2007 04:23
You have several questions in this one post.
Teaching has it's own rewards, however, good pay doesn't very often come hand in hand with teaching.
Working for 15 an hour as a cwi raises an eyebrow, I don't think I would be inclined to accept that rate.
Getting your certifications for NDE is a good thing, but it's not a magic bullet. It still takes a lot of experience
to get good at it.
As a minimum your looking at 5 years down the road before you need to even think about purchasing your own
equipment. Most companies that perform in house UT have their own machines under their QAM control. Now