Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Not sure what to do----sit behind a desk or go welding
- - By GQ COWBOY (*) Date 04-02-2007 19:53
what's up
I went to school for welding and pipe welding in Waco TSTI as it was call back then. I welded for a while and couldn't get the respect of the
old guys in the oil field. I worked in a shop building oil field slurry trucks and off shore rigs...Which I truely loved it. we worked from prints, you
cut everthing yourself, bent it. Whatever it took to get it done. After being talk down too and other stuff... I was just fed up... I said to myself
I'm going back to school and lean to draw with the software Autocad, Pro-E a 3-d software.. Which is cool as hell....I still have my love for welding to the max...I started working as a drafter, which after years I became a designer. now I'm another step Sr designer for another oil field
company in Houston.

This is the problem... I'm tried of sitting in a desk and working 8-5 and being bored....you can only do this for so long...
I'm ready to start back welding.....I've done a few things for people over the years. I truly miss welding for a living...
now, I have the abillty to lay it out on the computer, creat a drawing and a cut sheet...

I'm ready for my own shop....I always hear this... IN TIME YOU WILL, hell when will that be...
I'm trying to get a welding rig together now. Boy, just looking at the money, I'm needing is a mind blower...
So, needless to say, a little at a time I guess...

I went on a welding job out of town a few weeks ago. It was going to be a quick job, so I was thinking...
I was only putting expaned metal on some stairwell  (some truned out to be 18 stair or 11 floors)... Well, that trun into a 6-day job....which the pay was great... I made in a week, what I make in a month as a designer....Mmmmmmm