Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Anyone used a slice torch?
- - By Ddiesel Date 04-09-2007 01:12
I am a heavy equipment mechanic. sometimes its necessary to cut out a pin. a few instances have arisen where said pin may be 3 inches by say 24inches. i have used carbon arc to gouge out pins up to 12 inches in depth but its a chore. i was told that and exxothermic slice torch would burn straight throught a pin of any depth rod permitting. before i drop the money to order one i would like to hear from somone that has used one. Thanks
Parent - By J Hall (***) Date 04-09-2007 02:42
I have a Slice torch, it is not cheap to use, but all in all it is a decent tool. It's nicer for burning pins than an airarc.
Parent - - By joseph asturino (*) Date 04-09-2007 03:12
yes , i've used them , and for the same thing........its a pain in the ass , just like the gouging rods......but it works....

if the pin has been worn down in a way where pushing it out no matter how much pressure is applied is out of the question , then you have no choice but to wash the whole damm thing out of there ,,,, bummer.......,,,,,,,,  the torch you talked about comes in various sizes , we use them up to 5 ft. long , still , you have to get good at it , like everything else.....sometimes ,  i use a number 12 scarfing tip,,,,it works well , its so big , that i will start to burn a 1 inch hole ,,,,,,,,,,just hold the torch fixed , don't move it , and it will form a nice stream that will stay intact ,  it will keep burning many inches from the torch tip like this before you have to move the torch closer ,,,,,,,do this for a minute or so , and then just knock off the big chunk of slag and continue , its comes out really clean.......you can wash out this type of hole an easy 12 inches......