Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / whats meant by draging the rod
- - By elliott (**) Date 04-10-2007 23:51
How it going everybody. I was reading some of the old posts and notice you guys talking about draging , is that the same as backhand motion with  the rod. Some body wrote that you shouldnt do that. About 2 months ago I got a job with a company that makes awning and also does canopy structures no bigger 10x10x1/4 inch column.The welder there told me that it doesnt really matter if you use a fore hand motion or a backhand motion.But I also have some friend that work for fuel compay installing boilers and they have told me not to use the backhand motion. I have some experience welding before I got the job but nothing of an importance just for myself.Took a long time to find a company that would give you a chace.Its going real good but I want do the it the right way, we all know bad habits are hard to break.Someday I hope to be welding pipe or  structual.Thanks again
Parent - - By cmays (***) Date 04-11-2007 00:33
It all depends on several variables such as what electrode you are using, what position you are welding in as well as what process you are using. Drag method is mainly popular when using "jet rod" (7024) in a flat position only (if that happens to be what you are refering to as "drag method"). The main thing is to learn what your puddle is doing in any position or with any electrode. One of the main problems that commonly occurs when using the drag method is if you dont pay attention to your puddle form the slag will slip under your puddle causing a cavity to form. That will bust yah 100 % of the time in a bend test.
Parent - By Molten Metal (**) Date 04-11-2007 00:39
What type of electrode? What power source/polarity + or -  or AC ? What position? flat,vert,horizontal,?
Parent - By dschlotz (***) Date 04-11-2007 02:58
Elliot,