Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Question on 304ss
- - By vwjoegolf Date 04-11-2007 00:46
i am just laying practice beads on sheets of 11 gauge 304 and i was wondering the back looks like sugaring, more in some spots than others, could it actually be burn through.  I am using TIG w/2 thoriated and 308 filler at somewhere between 60-80 amps i tried less thinking it was burn through, but cannot get a sufficient puddle with to little heat.  I also tried pulsing it to lessen heat input.  The surface of the bead also looks like it has striations on it, but when i go over the bead with out filler just to clean it up the weld looks a lot more like a ss weld should without those striations.  Sorry if i am vague but i am a beginner with TIG ss and alum. thanks
Parent - By js55 (*****) Date 04-11-2007 13:52
Not sure about the striations but it seems that your backside is a combination of burn through and 'sugaring'. 11 gage at .1196" nominal wall (<1/8") is pretty thin. Its the burn through taking the material into the oxidation temperature range that causes the 'sugaring'.
Parent - By aevald (*****) Date 04-11-2007 15:34