Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / 4130 voids
- - By Tommyjoking (****) Date 04-19-2007 08:49
Hello all,

I am currently a welder on aircraft...(formerly pressure vessels, pipe work, heavy equipment field work).  My question is in regards to tig welding on chrome moly (4130) material.

I must regularly weld 4130 billet and tube extrusions together with fillets and butt joints...because the part is chrome plated many welds (butt joints) are ground and polished prior to plating.  Myself and others are experiencing very very tiny voids in the weld after grinding.....they look like microscopic pinholes.   We only see these on the welds that are ground flush and they interfere with the plating process....they definitely show thru if not reparied by spot welds prior to plating.  Please understand these "voids" only show up under magnyfiying and intense light.    

We have tried everything from diffuser cups to anal cleaning before welding.  Nothing has seemed to have any effect.   Is this common to the material or what??  Note: we have all passed strict kodaks bend tests etc. on this material!

ANY HELP would be greatly appreciated!!!!
Parent - - By awill4x4 (**) Date 04-19-2007 11:50
We also do a lot of 4130 welding mainly for the motorsport industry here in Australia. I am assuming (and please correct me if I am wrong) that the problem is occurring when you join the thinner tube section to the thicker billet section?
We have similar problems where we are joining 2.5" X .095 tubing to "cotton reels" 1 3/8" diameter with a wall thickness of approx 3/8" to 1/2" and we find we get better results when we preheat the "cotton reels" to the point where you can't hold them in your hand.