Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Preheating Stainless
- - By welderwv (*) Date 04-27-2007 18:17
I am new to inspection.  I worked as a welder for 11 or 12 years and I find it amazing how much I didn't know about welding until I started working on my CWI.  Anyway Mr. Chuck Meadows from AvestaPolarit mailed me some info on 2205 stainless steel.  It was really interesting and I think the company I was working for misused this grade. 

One interesting thing I found was the part on preheating.  Again being in the welding field does not educate you in welding and I was told many times that stainless steel never needs preheat.  According to the papers I have 2205 over 15mm preheating to 100-150C is sometimes recommended. 

Are there any standards in AWS on preheating stainless steel?  The paper mentioned that "carbon pickup" could occur and cause intergranular corrosion.  Are there specs on heat temps. for stainless that should be avoided?  I am sure it changes for different grades but are there charts or references to use on temp. max. to avoid?
Parent - - By aevald (*****) Date 04-27-2007 18:52