Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / 4130 Substitute
- - By airweld (**) Date 03-03-2001 02:08
I am new to this group, so, please advise if I am not following the rules or asking inappropriate questions. I am a welder by trade, specializing in small aircraft applications, primarily 4130 tube structures.
I would like to replace sections of these 4130 tube frames with a more corrosion resistant material. My research suggests a duplex stainless, such as 2205, meets the mechanical and weldability requirements while offering significantly better corrosion resistance. My questions are:
1. Does anyone have any real world experience with this alloy and would
it be suitable for this application? No signed statements required :)
2. When TIG welding 2205 to 4130, what is the best filler and gas? The
diameters range from .375 to 1.5" and wall thickness from .035 to
.065".
3. What about using a backing flux as opposed to a purge gas? I have
used a backing flux on 321 and it worked O.K.
That's all I can think of for now. I would really appreciate the benefit of
someone else's experience on this matter. Thanks in advance for your time, Scott.
Parent - - By Darvin (*) Date 03-04-2001 07:51
I'm new around here as well but I can tell you this board is VERY slow. Not much activity here.

I use to be a welder and I recall reading somewhere in my AWS books that welding alloys with chromium to alloys with nickel could result in cracking. And I seem to remember the cracking could develop after some aging. I sorry I don't remember the metallurgical explanation.

If you don't have access to technical books or get an answer from someone here, let me know and I'll try to dig it up for you.

Darvin
Parent - - By bhiltz (**) Date 03-04-2001 13:00
Are there other welding forum's out there? where?
Parent - By Darvin (*) Date 03-05-2001 15:45