Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Welding Fundamentals / Cup Walk?
- - By arcboy (*) Date 05-09-2007 21:48
So anybody have any links to a video on cup walking.   I went to school and got my AAS in weld tech. and in our pipe class we never learned hwo to cup walk.  I hear that this is controversal aobut if it good or not.  What do you guys think. 

This info will help becasue I am a new welding instructor and I would like to learn how to do this and teach it if the class is advanced enough.

Thanks
Parent - - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 05-11-2007 15:33
Here is a short video I made. By no means state of the art "Walking the Cup" but it will give you the idea. http://weldinginspectionsvcs.com/misc/WalkingTheCupVid.htm

Have a good day

Gerald
Parent - - By MDG Custom Weld (***) Date 05-11-2007 17:18
It's hard to tell, but are you feeding the wire into the leading edge of the puddle, walking the cup on top of the weld metal just as it freezes?  Or you feeding the wire into the back edge as the puddle freezes?
Parent - - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 05-11-2007 19:09
In that one the wire is staying in the same place. You can feed additional wire if needed. The wire feeding part is easy. And once you get the feel of walking the cup, it is pretty easy too.
Parent - - By Tommyjoking (****) Date 05-12-2007 10:05
I do it all the time...but I have a helluva time trying to teach it to someone else by describing it.   The only way i can get it across is to have them watch me do it.

I always thought that "walking the cup" was basically moving it through a groove/bevel joint.  Touching the cup  off "waddiling it forward" and I never considered laying it on top of my weld and moving across what had just frozen???