Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / WILL A CWI CERT BE ENOUGH TO GET HIRED AT FIRST???
- - By vagabond (***) Date 05-21-2007 03:31
I am still thinking about getting my CWI, having 15+yrs welding and fitting behind me it seems like a good step to take.  But I 've been looking at a lot of job openings recently and a fair amount require NDT certs. as well.  I was just wondering what everyones opinion is about becoming employed as a CWI with just that cert.  Obviously after I get it I would like to put it too use and begin learning from other inspectors how to become a good one.  Also since my background is primarily industrial power plant etc. I am thinking I should test to D1.1 rather than 1104???  I wouldn't mind working for a pipeline company but most of my experience is in the petrochem/high pressure piping industry.  Thanks much in advance for any input.  I really get a lot of info from the people who post on the boards here.  And I really appreciate it!!!
Parent - By swsweld (****) Date 05-25-2007 03:03
     If you think you would like inspecting full time and have the means to do so I would recommend it. You can certainly make a living with "just that card". Of course it depends on the economy in your location and if you want to travel. Like welding the more processes you can do the more options you have. But the guy that only welds pipe is still very employable. Same with CWI. Many ND Examiners only do UT or RT or VT. Some do all.