Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Information on travel speed
- - By Nandy Date 05-31-2007 00:52
I am very new to welding. I will be welding a 2" 1/8 thick square pipes to make a rack. I did some testing in the material and looks like the 7018 3/32 electrode at 125a ac had enough penetration to hold the pieces together. I went about putting the welded parts in a vise and use the "hammer" method to test the strengh and I have to say I was happy. I know that is not a very scientific way to test. Anyway, I am not sure if there is a chart anywhere of a formula to estimate the travel speed of a weld. I know there must be a lot of variables but I wonder if there is one to at least get me in the ballpark to then play with it. What I have read is that the bead should be in 1/8" in this case.
Another thing is read about the weld bead, which I have no problem seeing while oxyacetilene welding, but I have a problem seeing that bead. I wonder what I am doing wrong.

Thanks.
Parent - By DaveBoyer (*****) Date 05-31-2007 02:55
I wouldn't worry about a specific travel speed, it will depend too much on fitup and joint preperation. To Me Your amperage sounds high, but if it is working, don't get too excited about the machine settings, as there are a lot of variables there too. The welding lenses come in different shades, #10 being a good place to start. If it is too dark try a #9, or use a worklight shining on the joint. If the lens gets fogged up You won't see any detail.
Parent - By downhandonly (***) Date 05-31-2007 04:51
if you are using 7018 and a shade 9 or 10 look a bit behind your arc where your puddle is and if its pointy your going too fast, slow down a bit until it becomes more of a cresent shape. try about 90 amps with 3/32. burn to learn!
Parent - - By Nandy Date 05-31-2007 17:16