Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / d1.1 gmaw
- - By independent23 Date 06-09-2007 00:35
Hi all, I am relatively new to structural wire welding.  And since my work is doing more and more towers and structural beams I thought it would be a good idea to do some bend tests.  I am wanting to know what the parameters are for doing a bend test on 3/8" C.S. plate, .035 wire, 75/25 gas.  Most of the welds we do are t-welds in the flat and closed corner to corner vertical down 2 passes, so would this still be a good test to do, if not what would be better? thanks.
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 06-09-2007 05:34 Edited 06-09-2007 05:38
Welcome to the forum Independent!

Rather than talk about parameters I would want to talk about process.

Short Circuit Mig and Vertical Down doesn't really inspire confidence when thinking about structures and towers.

While it is totally possible to make sound short circuit welds on 3/8 carbon steel with the gas your using, it is also likely that production work will have sidewall fusion issues.

If your work is to D1.1 you will have to do more than a few bends... You must qualify your short circuit GMAW procedure per section 4,  and only then think about WPS and welder performance testing.

Have you thought about rotating your parts into the horizontal position and using spray transfer?  If this is not possible than you may want to explore FCAW.
Parent - - By independent23 Date 06-09-2007 16:50