Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Shielding gas question
- - By StephenK Date 06-25-2007 21:45
Hello,

I'm fairly new to welding and I have a question about shielding gasses.

I am using a Lincoln SP125 Plus 110v mig welder.

I do automotive work, specifically 409 stainless exhaust systems and intercooler systems. I also do fabrication of parts with a combination of stainless and mild steel.

I need to be able to weld stainless to stainless and stainless to mild. My local welding supply store has told me that to weld SS I will need to use 529 Trimix or the welds will be poor. They tell me that I can't use the Trimix to do mild steel.

So I'm in a bit of a corner here.. if this is true then I will need 2 bottles one bottle of 75-25 argon/co2 and another bottle of 529 Trimix.

Is this true?
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 06-25-2007 22:14
Your real limitation is the puney power supply.

309 stainless FCAW would be a good choice for your mild/stainless welds and could be done with 75/25  but I'm skeptical if a a roll of 309 FCAW can be fit on your little machine.

You could short circuit weld solid wire stainless and carbon steel with 98/2  Argon/Oxygen

Tells us the exact gas balence of your Trimix and somebody will tell you if it can work with plain carbon steel.
Parent - - By StephenK Date 06-25-2007 22:21
I'd have to call the welding supply place and ask them.. they said it was a Helium trimix 529.

The machine does the job just fine.. I've done mild steel exhaust systems before no problem. The wire I typically use is .030 solid. I'm not talking about doing any heavy duty welding here.. just automotive exhaust.
Parent - - By Stephan (***) Date 06-26-2007 07:50
Stephen,

there was a fine thread a time ago and initiated by "Kix" in the forum's "Shop Talk" Section, see also:

http://www.aws.org/cgi-bin/mwf/topic_show.pl?pid=59069;hl=#pid59069