Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / student's needing work
- - By ryland (*) Date 06-28-2007 15:34
hello fellow welder's and employer's, I am an instructor that is having some trouble with getting the student's to move and go get jobs away from their comfort zones (home) and the market is full right now, is there any suggestions or comments you can offer other than the money thats involed with brand new welder's. Thank Ryland
Parent - - By bozaktwo1 (***) Date 06-28-2007 17:09
It would help to know where you are.  My company regularly hires entry-level welders.  Some stay for quite a while, others learn what they can and move on.  Most of what we do here is steel GMAW to D1.1, Aluminum GMAW to D1.2, a little bit of D1.3 and D1.6 work, and GTAW to D17.1.  We are very tolerant of anyone who likes to learn, and for that this is a great place to work.  However, here in the San Antonio area the wages may not be the highest in the country.
Parent - By ryland (*) Date 07-06-2007 16:47
this school is here in enid oklahoma, some of these boys and girls can rock your world in this work, but it is the the ability to leave and not have any help that scares them. thanks for your reply.
Parent - - By makeithot (***) Date 06-29-2007 15:50
Tell you what if the students do not want to move out of their comfort zone to learn and work in their choosen field ,then they should just go home to Mom. Or the other choose might be is just get off their a$$. If they are not prepared to take the first step themselfs what good are they going to be anyway.
Parent - - By upsidedown Date 06-29-2007 18:58 Edited 06-29-2007 21:30
Hello,