Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / what filler to use?
- - By rtnnhazel (*) Date 07-03-2007 04:09
im new to the world of tig. i was wondering if anyone could me find the right filler material. i run an htp 130 dc/hf. great machine by the way. im welding auto body sheetmetal and 1/16 sheet metal. i have heard you can use mig wire as filler, is this true. is there a better filler for my application? thanks for the help.
Parent - By reddoggoose (**) Date 07-03-2007 17:25
Electrode and wires are classified by the AWS. An ER70S-6 wire is the same composition regardless of being spooled on wire hub or in TIG rod cut lengths. The E stands for electrode such as a mig wire, the R stands for rod such as a tig rod, making that wire usable in both processes. The mig wire won't be any better for your application than a cut length, with the exception that you can unwind very small diameters and use them for you filler, helping you use less amperage to melt the wire.
Parent - - By Greg G. (**) Date 07-05-2007 20:13
You can also use ER70S-2 and it will wet out a little easier for you, but both will work ,it is done all the time. As I have 25 years in the precision sheet metal welding industry. I have welded many different things and both will work. If you do not have the option of getting a -2 then use a -6. The number after the - is the chemical make up of the wire. Your supplier can help you pick the right one for the application.
Parent - - By rtnnhazel (*) Date 07-06-2007 01:57
i appreciate all of your help. can enyone explain what "wet" is. thanks
Parent - By reddoggoose (**) Date 07-06-2007 02:29
Wetting is a term used to describe the fusion of weld metal to base metal. The weld should fuse in smoothly and evenly. An example of poor wetting would be undercut, a tall ropey weld, or cold lap.
Parent - - By reddoggoose (**) Date 07-06-2007 02:19
Greg G,