Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / I thought I was a welder.
- - By barcode5150 Date 07-10-2007 02:51
I have been reading in the forums, and I thought I was a welder. I use a 3M Hood with grind shield and breathe easy air hook up. I run depending on position a Thermal Arc, and an older Lincoln mig welder. I run day to day 1/16 metal cored wire at 280 wfs, and run hot to cut down the spatter. We grind our starts and stops and wire brush, scrape or grind any spatter that may be on the weldment. I am skilled with an arc gougher, 0.45 flux cored wire running both over head and uphill beads, and the same with 0.52 metal cored.

Day to day I generally run beads anywhere from 20 to 50 feet. I thought I had some skills, but honestly I don't understand half the terminology you guys are using. I feel humbled. I have had to repair other welder's welds alot so I know many of the defects. I won't say where I work or what I do on the forums here, but I will say the 3 years I have worked there I thought I had learned a thing or two. Now I'm thinking I should take some classes. My weld test for this job required only a three bead pass on a flat T and a 45 degree angle. The same with flux, and a 20 ft weld on your knees. They did a bend test. I have learned much more since then, aluminum, stainless. I'm good with a stick.

I don't have a clue what half of the technical terms you guys use mean. I guess I'm someone who welds more than a welder.
Parent - - By Tommyjoking (****) Date 07-10-2007 05:56
barcode5150