Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Chit-Chat & Non-Welding Discussion / Off-Topic Bar and Grill / Promised photos of work
- - By rebekah (**) Date 07-30-2007 16:33 Edited 07-30-2007 16:41
Hey yall

It's been awhile since Ive been on and great to see that everyone is still ranting about the important stuff.  On a lighter note, here are the art pics I said I would post awhile back.  This is what I did for a living for years--artistic blacksmithing--though working for others it was mainly gates, railings, and large furniture.  On my own I do more fine craft pieces.

The first piece is a representation of a crystal that forms in young plant leaves.  The crystals occur by the hundreds at the cellular level and make the young leaf less appetizing to browsers--basically cuts up the mouth.  This particular shape is from a grape leaf.  It is called Raphide, the name of the crystal.  That's copper inside.  Galvanic reactions be damned!  1/4 steel rod individually forged and tapered, the hinge I end drilled on a lathe and used bronze rod inserts for easy opening.

The two pieces together are wall pieces called Medallion.  That's fused copper and forged steel.  I scored a spool of 1/8 copper wire at a salvage yard and used it to fuse the copper sections.

The last is a Shepherd's Crook Table with octagonal legs forged from round bar and then tapered.  Copper details again--that particular one is from a ground bar. 

That's it. Hope you like. 

Rebekah
Parent - - By jon20013 (*****) Date 07-30-2007 16:45
Very, very cool stuff!!!!  Leaves this person eager to see more picture postings!!!!
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 07-30-2007 18:12
More!!!!!!!!

I love copper to brass, to steel, weavings, spirals and braids
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 07-30-2007 19:32
Very nice work indeed!
Parent - - By RonG (****) Date 07-30-2007 20:00
Fantastic work, show us more. The first one "Raphide", How big is it?