Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Bad weld t's
- - By Sourdough (****) Date 08-03-2007 02:51 Edited 08-03-2007 02:53
Got a batch of sch 80 x 2" weld t's that have me tearing my hair out. Irradic arc, sticking to one side gouging, blowouts, the works. Tried everything to stay consistent, but ended up with a grinder in my hand half the day....I'm pissed! The rest of the day I was merrily sparking away on 20' joints of the same schedule pipe.

Can anyone shed a light on what kind of manufacturing procedure could cause this in prefabbed parts? Are they just junk/defective??

It's the same brand I've been using for three years, but is the only batch I have had with this problem.......
Parent - - By CWI555 (*****) Date 08-03-2007 03:18 Edited 08-03-2007 03:32
Strong possibility for magnetic arc blow, your description fits it nearly perfectly. The pieces could have been lifted by a magnet or some other fashion been magnetized leaving excessive residual magnetism polorized in a specific direction. Can't say as I've ever seen it in that size pipe though.
http://archive.metalformingmagazine.com/2001/05/Lincoln.pdf
Parent - By reddoggoose (**) Date 08-03-2007 13:06
I'm with CWI55. Makes me think of residual magnetism. I've talked with pipeline inspectors that have ran into this on line pipe that has been fit up on the right of way, but won't weld. I've seen pictures where the pipe was so magnetized that a 10# hammer would stick to the side of the pipe. Had something to due with the way the corrosion resistant coating was put on, but I've never heard of that problem on small pipe. CWI555 is probably on to something with a magnet maybe being used to lift and move the pipe.
Parent - - By dbigkahunna (****) Date 08-03-2007 22:22
Dough,