Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / WPS Essential Variables
- - By Hugh Cunningham (*) Date 08-07-2007 08:22
I'm relatively new to D1.1 (Scottish-Australian), but so far I've been impressed by the responses to my previous question on welding at altitude, so here goes with another one (forgive me if this is a silly question!).

I have a Contractor who has provided a qualified WPS with WPQR for a groove weld in the GMAW process, 3G position (uphill progression), allowable plate thickness range 5-50mm, all in accordance with ASME XI.  He claims this WPS is applicable to GMAW fillet welding for all positions and all thicknesses.  I know a welder qualified to 3G position is qualified for 1, 2, and 3F welds, but can a qualified groove weld procedure also cover a fillet weld (in any position)?  I would have thought that the weld design is an essential variable.  There are limits to the root and face sizes and also the angle in groove welds, not to mention groove shape, before requalification is necessary.  Surely a change to a fillet weld would require a new WPS?

Thanks,

Hugh
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 08-07-2007 12:40
Hugh,

I think we need to ask a couple more questions before you can have a solid answer. But the folks here will deliver !

You mention D1.1 first off but continue with words about Section XI. So we will need to be clear about that.

We also need to be clear on your need for information.  Are we asking if a PQR for Groove weld qualifies for fillets as well?   If the process is the same it very well might.

Position... ASME is a bit different from AWS on positions when it comes to *Procedure* qualifications.  ASME has a different approach as far as this goes, with material and position being rather loosely governed.  Now welder perfromance qualification will be strictly governed as far as welding position and progression.