Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / What the best Argon Co2 Regulator moderate price to buy?
- - By SCHOONER (*) Date 08-11-2007 07:12
Hi Guys (newbie here)

Just bought a MillerMatic135 to do my car restoration on 18 to 22 gauage sheet metal.

What I'd like to know is: What the best moderate priced: Argon Co2 Flowmeter Regulator for Mig Welding to buy?

Thank you
GOD BLESS YOU ALL

Schooner
Parent - By yorkiepap (***) Date 08-11-2007 11:36
Hey SCHOONER,
There are quite a few brands & models on the market that would serve your needs, even the imported ones. They vary in price, so do some shopping. A good place to start is E-Bay....you can get a unit very reasonably there....Good Luck.....Denny
Parent - - By makeithot (***) Date 08-12-2007 15:35
I would go with a brand name product myself as when it comes to regulators and flow meters you get what you pay for. They run anywhere from 150.00 to 275.00. either way if you buy a good one they will last a lifetime. I use one that I've had for 18 years payed $175.00 for it and it pays for itself every time I use it.
Parent - - By SCHOONER (*) Date 08-13-2007 02:53
Hi Makeithot

Thank you for you reply/imput I certainly appreciate it.

Now I know thanks to your experience with Flow meter I'll be looking for the same.

However, can you tell me the difference between a single stage flowmeter and a double stage anti-surge regulator please.

I won't buy anything till I hear from you.

Thanks again
GOD BLESS
Schooner
Parent - - By Northweldor (***) Date 08-13-2007 12:55
Double stage and anti-surge units are likely intended for manifold and critical applications, and are definitely not needed for your stated purpose.
Parent - - By SCHOONER (*) Date 08-15-2007 22:13
Hi Northweldor

Thank you for your imput and I certainly will take you advice.
I did buy a single stage Victor Reg. Cost: $85.00

However, I do have a question please.