Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / Some suggestions on a SMAW lecture
- - By arcboy (*) Date 08-11-2007 18:43
I will be starting a PT welding instructor position at a CC on the Aug. 21st.  I have run into a small issue.  I agreed to teach a Intro GMAW class, then it got cancled.  I was asked to teach an intro to SMAW.  This would normally be fine but it has been 4 years since I have picked up any SMAW electrode.  I don't have any work experience with SMAW.  Since it is an intro class I don't think that I will have a problem with the lab tasks.  My problem is that where I graduated it was more hands on and not as much lecture.  This class is a total of 10hrs M T W with 2 hours of lecture.  I am used to 1 hour of lecture.  I think that I will run out of lecture info for SMAW only.  I know there is a huge amount of information I can use including hours of videos, safety lecture, theory, how SMAW works, etc...  I just don't know if I can make 2 hours a week of lecture last the whole semester.

I have a lot information from where I graduated and the class book seems really good.  I am afraid that my lack or job exeprience will bite me in the butt.  I have 8 years of work experience with GTAW GMAW, FCAW, but none on SMAW.  Don't get me wrong I know the theory and I know how to lay a nice weld and teach other how to do it.  I just don't think that I can come up with 32 hours of "basic" SMAW lecture.

This CC is huge on theory and SMAW.  Theory is just as important as laying a nice bead.  SMAW is huge at this CC I guess because there is a lot of construction around here.  Also from what I hear the instructors all think that SMAW is king welding process and nothing is as important, maybe they are just old school or something.
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 08-11-2007 21:16