Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / VOLTAGE,HEAT,SPEED CONFUSED ! ! !
- - By SCHOONER (*) Date 08-18-2007 00:59
Hi Guys (Newbie Here Again)

Working with my new MillerMatic135 and read what I can understand, especially at the ripe young age of 66 . . . lol

Seriously, I'm confused about just how to set my setting.

I'm restoring my classic Ford Mustang '66 Convert. And man I'm havin' one hell've time. Some pain, some fun.
Oh but those mig welding setting are getting me crazy.

I welding 18 to 22 gauage sheet metal and what confusing me is what I've been reading.

I figure it this way and I'm wrong. I have two setting dials on my mig welder.
1. SPEED
2. VOLTAGE

So, I turn the dial on the SPEED to: 4.5
And the VOLTAGE to aroiund 5
Welding on: thicker 18 gauage s/metal

And I get going pretty good and then I get SPLATTER, UN-EVEN WELDS and most of all I STICK and the circuit breaker goes out.

From what I've been reading: The SPEED also jacks-up the HEAT. Of whick I don't understand. I though the VOLTAGE dail boosts-up the HEAT ? ? ?

I don't know guys, need help with this UP HEAT/DOWN SPEED or whatever.
If in case speed can be turn into heat whats with the voltage, what is that really used 4. ?

My welding can be much better. My welds are STRONG no little holes in 'em. Don't know how to spell PUR ROST A TEE ?

So, guys I'm in your hands again thank GOD.

GOD BLESS YOU ALL

Schooner
Parent - - By aevald (*****) Date 08-18-2007 02:01 Edited 08-18-2007 04:04