Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / 2% thoriated...radioactive?
- - By rtnnhazel (*) Date 08-18-2007 18:36
i have read that 2% thoriated tungsten has a low level radiation hazard. what exactly is a low level hazard? i usually have to grind all of my welds and i use flap discs, should i worry about anything here. im not a professional by any means, i just play around in my garage. i have kids and would hate for anything to happen because i was careless. thanks for the help.
Parent - - By ssbn727 (*****) Date 08-18-2007 19:05
Hi rtnnhazel!

Switch to a "Ceriated tungsten" and you'll be good to go :)
There are others such as a lanthanated tungsten which is good also and, so-called tri-mixes that could be anything especially if they're originating from China as is just about every other product that comes from there these days :( :( :(
So be forewarned!!! ;)

Respectfully,
Henry
Parent - By Tommyjoking (****) Date 08-18-2007 21:17
Howdy rtnnhazel

I would go as far as to say any risks due to radioactivity...even for somone who is using this stuff 40-60 hours a week (like I do) is negligiable at best.   The grinding dust is probably the most dangerous form of it...but I would be more concerned with inhaling the tungsten it self then its thorium.  Exposure to high electromagnetic fields, the gases/fumes, intense ultraviolet exposure ....the constant radio type radiation from using a high frequency unit at close proximity....all those things I think are much larger factors in health where welding is concerned.  Here is a few links on the subject if you care to do some more reading on it:

http://www.iem-inc.com/prmade9.html
http://files.aws.org/technical/facts/FACT-27.PDF
http://www.twi.co.uk/j32k/protected/band_13/faq_thoriated.html
http://www.baua.de/nn_32998/sid_18A6CEC91A64CCC4073691CB609CB976/nsc_true/en/Publications/Research-reports/1997/Fb767.html__nnn=true