Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Triple 7 flux core wire .045
- - By cwf07 (***) Date 08-23-2007 01:36 Edited 08-26-2007 21:36
Just wonder what yall think about it. I use it a little bit with 90/10 gas it done okay I am more use to solid wire. This is vertical on a log trailor with triple 7 90/10 gas
Attachment: IMG_0722.jpg (663k)
Parent - By TANKIE (*) Date 08-23-2007 02:21
KOBIE STEEL MAKE AN AWSOME 0.45 FLUX CORE WIRE IM A STRUCTURAL WELDER BUILDING FLAT BOTTOM STEEL STORAGE TANKS I LOVE IT its very forgivin and on ur starts and stops minimul featherin in just my 2 cents mike
Parent - - By aevald (*****) Date 08-23-2007 03:22
Hello cwf07, I have a feeling that you may not want to use that particular wire with the 90/10 shielding gas as I believe that the manufacturer specifies 75/25. When you are using any of the gas-shielded FCAW wires be sure to check on the gas(es) that are recommended by the manufacturer for the specific wire you are using, some are designed for use with 100% CO2 only, others are designed for use with either straight CO2 or the 75/25 mix, some are to be used with 75/25 only, and recently there are a few that are designed to be run with 90/10, just be sure to find out which gas or combination is recommended for the wire that you are using. If you use an incorrect shielding gas on an FCAW gas-shielded wire that is designed for a different type of shielding gas you can end up with some cracking issues and possibly some tensile issues as well, it also tends to alter the operational characteristics of the weld pool somewhat. Regards, aevald
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 08-23-2007 03:33
Alan hit the nail on the head.

Triple 7 is good stuff.. 

As with any FCAW wire the manufacturers data sheets will provide the best guidance.  The Triple 7 can be run with both 100% C02 and 75/25 Argon/C02.