Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / AWS Learning & Education / vertical down
- - By ks miller man Date 09-16-2007 00:59 Edited 09-17-2007 15:53
Hey all new to the site, Lets get started I am A structure welder for a local shop here certified in mig all position and stick vertical and flat, (getting ready to take overhead been busy).  I have been looking for a new jog one with a little more money and I figure I might as well start useing my truck and welder, I have always been told that you NEVER EVER run a down hill weld.  What is the deal I'm a young guy but I have done a good amount of welding, and when I called to check on the job the contractor informed me that it is a downhill cert I need to know how to do it. It must be a pipeliner thing because even the local linweld guys looked at me like I was crazy when i went in asked for 7024 rod buddy told me that was the rod of choice he happens to be down certified but he is gone to mach to help me. Guys could you please give some pointer technique anything at all thanks.
Parent - By aevald (*****) Date 09-16-2007 02:52
Hello ks miller man, first off welcome to the forum. It is likely that you will find this place a valuable tool for all sorts of information and such. Now to get to some of your question, it isn't incorrect to make "some" welds downhand, it just depends on the application and the conditions. Tons of pipe and other fabricated items are welded with the downhand travel method all the time. When done correctly, the completed welds will meet all of the requirements for a sound weld. Sometimes there are metallurgical reasons for the downhand approach, other times it has to do with thickness and speed. We could spend a considerable amount of time in explaining the possible scenarios where a downhand method will work and where it won't, I'll leave that for another time.