Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Welding Stainless Steel with different thermal expansion
- - By jnasr00 Date 10-05-2007 02:05
Hi,
If I weld a stainless steel with a mean coefficient of expansion = 10.6x10^-6 in/F with a filler metal that has a mean coefficient of 8.2x10^-6 in/F does anyone know what effects this has on the weldment? Any references would be much appreciated.

I am very new to welds as you can tell by my question.

cheers
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 10-05-2007 13:20
It would depend on the service environment, the thickness of the joint, etc.

Thermal cycles can lead to low cycle thermal fatigue in some applications.

Best regards - Al
Parent - By js55 (*****) Date 10-05-2007 14:25
Thats a design question and not likely to find an answer here or in any other forum for that matter.
What's the pressure?
What's the amplitude of the pressure variation in the cycle?
What's the max temp?
What's the min temp?
What's the rapidity with which the temp amplitude changes?
What's the cycling frequency?
What alloys?
What's the service-is it a SCC susceptible?
What's the material thickness?
Are there any thickness transitions?
What about weld quality?
What was the welding thermal cycle-did it prevent segregation?
Etc. etc. etc.
Parent - - By G.S.Crisi (****) Date 10-05-2007 17:39 Edited 10-05-2007 17:44
In my personal opinion, the difference isn't that much to worry about it. In any case, if you're concerned, make a couple of tests.
Prepare two specimens, one with plate and the other with pipe (or both with plate or both with pipe, that's up to you), weld them, allow them to cool and see what happens.
Has the different coefficient of expansion caused any crack, even tiny ones? Be careful.