Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / New Welder..
- - By YoungGun_Welder Date 10-16-2007 22:08
i graduated high school class of 2007, after school i moved to Tijuana Mexico to work at my grandfathers shop where i learned to weld. I like welding a lot its something i would love to do for the rest of my life. But i don't know much about welding just how to weld aluminum if the machine and everything is set up for me. So i was thinking of going to a welding school to learn move about welding. What kind of certification do i need to get a welding job?
Parent - - By YoungGun_Welder Date 10-16-2007 23:51
Job Corps ? what do you guys think of it ?
Parent - By DWCO (*) Date 10-17-2007 01:18
YoungGun, the reply to your question could fill volumes. Each persons life experiences are truly unique. Find a mentor.  Go take every class and weld everything you can get your hands on. Study. Job corps is a good way to get a beginning.  As for what certification is best, there is no clear answer. Where I live, local industry wont give you a dime for pipe, smaw, or gtaw. We burn .052 flux core and .032 mig wire. We weld heavy plate in all positions up to 8 inches thick. We weld mining equipment, locomotives, and heavy equipment. Other parts of the country are different. You go 80 miles north and they want pipeliners... Go figure!!  There are some common qualifications to try for. Plate in verticle and overhead 1" FCAW.  3/8 plate same positions with gmaw. Aluminum & steel. If you are in a pipe area. go for the 6G..... After it is all said and done, find what suits you the best... And never stop learning!!!

P.S. Enjoy the ride!!!!

Dwco
Parent - By aevald (*****) Date 10-17-2007 00:58