Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / welding joint of SS 316 pipe
- - By syda (*) Date 10-23-2007 04:42
Dear All,

I am a Engineer who is working for ship yard in Sri Lanka. We have under taken to fabricate a steem heating coils for a ship and the fabrication work is being attended. Pipe material is S/S/316 and as a filler mettel we are using S/S 316 L. When  inspect the welds I saw there are some oxydizetion taken place. (very thin layer of rust only the weld area) Please help me to know the reason for it.

Thanks,

SYDNEY
Parent - By aevald (*****) Date 10-23-2007 05:19
Hello Sydney, from the brief description that you have given it is possible that the brushes or other metal preparation tools that were used during the welding of the joints were carbon steel or had been contaminated with carbon steel. Any grinding or sanding wheels, flap wheels, brushes, or other tools that have been used for carbon steel and then used on stainless steel will produce the rust that you have described. Generally the welders/fitters should only use new grinding wheels, flap wheels, or sanding discs for joint preparation. They should also only use new stainless steel brushes that haven't been used for brushing anything other than stainless steel. If the brushes are carbon steel or have been contaminated by use on carbon steel you can possibly see the conditions that you are describing. Do some checking with the welders or others who were present for the welding to try to determine if this is indeed what occurred. Best regards, aevald
Parent - By CWI555 (*****) Date 10-23-2007 22:14