Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / How would you weld this?
- - By Pat Dief Date 11-08-2007 18:17
Hello,

My name is Pat.  I'm a senior mechanical engineering student at Washington State University. 

I'm in a senior design class, and for our project we have to design a structure capable of supporting 2,000,000 lbs that also has a factor of safety of 2.

We've decided to weld the structure together rather than bolting, but because of the large size of the support members necessary to support the loads welding will be a challenge.  We're expecting the members to be around 6" x 6" based on computer modeling we've done so far.  I'll try and throw up a couple links to some pictures so you can see better what we're dealing with.

My question would be, do you know of any resources that specify weld sizes for complex weld designs like this?  Our library has some really old books on welding and only show simple welding cases with simple loading and no mention of MIG or TIG welding which we were thinking of using.
And my second question would be since you guys are experts at welding and I know very little, do you have any thoughts or concerns with welding something of this size that we should be aware of?

Some of the specifications for the project,
Material:  High strength steel with a yield strength greater than or equal to 51 ksi.  We're looking at 1020 steel for ease of weldability.
Dimensions:  4 legs with foot spacing of 6' on one side, 6'8" on the other
Maximum height:  20" from bottom of the feet to top of the structure.

sorry for the bad pic, and the image hoster throws up some adds with the picture, could not help that.

an idea of the overall setup of our design.
Parent - - By js55 (*****) Date 11-08-2007 18:47
Omer Blodgett's 'Design of Weldments' is one of the best reousrces. Available through  AWS.
Parent - By Mwccwi (***) Date 11-24-2007 21:40