Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / PQR Test Question for D1.6 Stainless Steel
- - By eekpod (****) Date 11-16-2007 11:59
I'm preparing to qualify a procedure to D1.6 (07) S/S, this is my first time qualifying a procedure, and I have two questions.

1) If I weld my PQR test plate in the 1G flat position (full pen w/ backing) can I write a WPS for 3G vert up?

2) If I qualify my PQR test plate w/ joint B-U2a-GF (single V-groove) w/ backing, will this allow me to write a WPS for other joint's? I.E. B-U4a-GF (single bevel groove).

Basically I'm referring to section 4 "Table 4.1 WPS Qualification Variables".  I don't see weld joints listed as an essentional variable so I think it doesn't matter, but I want to make sure.
Also Table 4.1 Item 4.1 Positions says "In vertical welding, a change in the progression specified for any pass from upwards to downward or vice versa."   This doesn't mention anything about "a position from flat to vertical" is what I'm getting at.  Generally I'd say no it can't be done, but I can't find it per page and paragraph.

Thanks  Chris
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 11-16-2007 12:40
Chris,
You can't test a PQR in 1G and write the WPS for 3G.

Follow my thinking:
Essential Variables
Table 4.5(27) A change in position not qualified by Table 4.1
OK so you test in 1G but then try to write the WPS for 3G....Table 4.5 is a list of variable changes that require a new seperate PQR. You have changed from the position that you tested in (1G) to another position (3G) and Table 4.1 backs that up.

Table 4.1
Weld Type CJP, Position(tested) 1G nowhere in that row does it say anything other than 1F or 1G all thr way across the page.....sorry but you caqnnot test in 1G and use 3G in production with a WPS wriitten off the 1G PQR.