Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Backing Rings
- - By kbolles Date 11-26-2007 14:14
I work for a company that manufactures level controls for the petro/chem industry and I need some advice about backing rings as I have never used them before. These controls fill slowly and because the joint is at the top of the control, the joint will not come in contact with the process. We build to ASME B31.1 and B31.3 and from what I can ascertain I should be able to leave these rings in place because corrosion is not a great concern with this application. These controls will be welded using a Panasonic Dip Pulse HM III 350 Robotic Welder with ER70S-6 filler on an A105 ANSI Flange/A106B SMLS Pipe and the backing ring is A109. I have to qualify these welds because the company wants to increase productivity and using these backing rings should help in that area because it will eliminate the need for cleanup. Any tips, pointers or observations would be greatly appreciated.
Parent - - By G.S.Crisi (****) Date 11-26-2007 20:17
You say that the controls will be used in petrochemical and chemical industries and corrosion isn't a concern.
A word of warning: if the medium whose level they will control is strongly caustic, i.e., pH above 9, and it will come in contact with the weld (you say it won't but one never knows), then corrosion IS a concern, because the backing ring will promote caustic embrittlement.
By the way, from the description you've made, I'd think that the devices are Leveltrols, which used to be made by Fisher. Am I right?
Giovanni S. Crisi
Sao Paulo - Brazil
Parent - - By kbolles Date 11-26-2007 21:45