Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / New to Forum!! Need Help!! 2G, 3G, 4G SMAW
- - By GonzoWeld (*) Date 12-06-2007 00:38 Edited 12-06-2007 00:43
I have been welding for 8 Yrs and am proficient in Tig, Mig and I thought SMAW! I recently applied for a job where I will have to take a bend test on 3/8" plate with a backing bar welding it all the way out with a 7018.Alittle nervous,but I have been practicing abunch!! This will be the first bend test that I have ever taken and was looking to you guys for some advice! Any suggestions for the set-up of the test should I weld any of the test concurrently? What is your take on rod angle for each one of the positions? Are you allowed to use a grinder usually? When the backing bar comes off will I be able to back grind the root and apply another pass?? My Vertical i am running about 85amps wih a 3/32 7018 and about 15 degrees rod angle and I am running stringers moving upward steady and watching the puddles edge burn into the side of the bevel I am using that as a indicator to continually move up Does that sound about right? Usally look pretty good unless I HICK UP!!As far as my horizontal I run about 15 degrees rod angle about 90 amps with a 3/32 I feel pretty confident about that test ,but the only thing that concerns me is the tie in on the top of the stringer is good , but it looks like to me that it isn't so good on the bottom toe of the pass. Any suggestions to get good tie in on the horizontal? The overhead I feel pretty good with it is really about stablizing myself and watching the edge of the puddle! Oh, keeping the ARC tight on all positions deffintaly trying not to long arc at all!! To these test usually allow you to chose 3/32 or 1/8 ?? what are the standards usally as far as pin holes once the strip is bent or cracks where the metal is pulling away from the weld? On a 8" plate I can get 4 or 5 good 1 " staps to be