Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Alaska
- - By tfpearson Date 12-28-2007 04:28
Wanting info about living and welding in Alaska. Thinking about moving there in a couple of years. I live in Texas now and spent many years in North Carolina. I love the outdoors and hunting and fishing. Thinking of moving to the Fairbanks and North Pole area. This would be good for the hunting but not sure about work. The North Slope sounds like a pos. for me working a couple of weeks on and a couple off to hunt. I have wife and kids all will to come with me. Been researching and talking with some people on ICQ that live there. I have not made contact with anyone in the welding field. I am a welder at present but I will be attending school at Tulsa Welding School to ensure that I have everything I need as for as cert. when I get to Alaska. Any info you could give me would be greatly appreciated.
Timmy
Parent - By webbcity (***) Date 12-28-2007 05:38
timmy , send me your snail mail address , i'll mail you some info. my e-mail is on my profile . ? are you planning on driving up , if so you and all passengers need a passport to enter Canada jan. 1 , 2008 and you need it to re-enter at U.S customs at Alaska border , in case you didn't know . there may be other things also , i can find out if it helps , so you can be prepared . the road is much better now that it was in 1963 , when i first drove up , it's taking about 72hrs from bellingham wa. semi-truck with groceries to anchorage , kenai area . it took me 15 days in 1964 with a 50 ford 2 ton truck i had about $600 cash and i'm not leaving till i get every penny of it back . good luck . willie     
Parent - By tfpearson Date 12-28-2007 21:29
Timothy Pearson
Rt. 1 Box 112
Jasper, Texas 75951
Parent - - By tfpearson Date 12-28-2007 21:30