Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Radiation Safety and Thorium
- - By TxDoc Date 01-05-2008 06:55
Am new to TIG welding. I have been mainly using pure Tungsten and aluminum. Was going to buy some Lanthanated electrodes, but they apparently are not common here. I am a hobbyist and not a professional.

My questions are:
How dangerous is the use and sharpening of Thorium containg electrodes? As I have seen my brother go thru cancer treatment in the last two years, I think even a small hazard is not worth it.

I will be mainly welding aluminum and wanted to test out some 1/4" mild steel and wondered what tungstens would be best to try.

Would the Lanthanated or Ceritated be good for aluminum as well as mild steel or just stick with pure tungsten for aluminum and one of the others for steel?

I am mainly practicing with with 1/8" and 3/32" pure tungstens and a #7 cup.
What other sizes would be good to purchase?

Any questions, advice or criticism is welcome.
Thanks
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 01-05-2008 15:52
Not to be "short" in my reply, but there have been several great discussions on this subject. Tap the "search" function in the menu listed just under the header "AWS Online Forum". Type "tungsten safety" and read the post "2% thoriated...radioactive?" by Stephan (our guru from Germany).

Stephan provides in-depth information and discussions about many aspects of welding that are well worth the time to read them. Speaking of which, we haven't heard from Stephan for some time.

Best regards - Al 
Parent - - By js55 (*****) Date 01-22-2008 14:59
Where is Stephen these days? Anybody heard from him?
Parent - By 803056 (*****) Date 01-23-2008 04:24