Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Welding Fundamentals / stepping or dragging up hill 6010
- - By meliz G (*) Date 01-11-2008 07:54
how is everybody doing  im  new here and  trying to get some   advice  on welding  beads in pipe im using 1/8 6010 uphill ive been told to step it and some others tell me to drag it personally ive only seen dragging downhill not up well im working with a  nickel landing german saw blade spacer i tend to get undercut all the way around the bead i penetrate but with under cut  i drag the bottom of the pipe and step the rest i know it going to be hard to explain it  but any andvice will be appreciated  and if by any chance there  are any welders out there in the Freeport tx area with a  little bit of time to spare  that  wont mind  personally teaching me it would be greatly appreciated  i got coupons, rods and  welding rig  im a shop hiliarc welder right know and  can stick fillers and caps 7018  putting in beads is the only thing thats holding me back i just need an old school welder to fine tune me

thanks
Parent - - By js55 (*****) Date 01-11-2008 17:44
I have friends that dragged 6010 uphill (with a little wiggle) on roots and did a very fine job. I never used that method myself, I always preferred stepping. I could see itbetter and control my depth of penetration better.

The trick is to get your heat right, step out just enough to let the puddle cool and 'eat' the landing without enlarging your keyhole too much and drop back on your 'shelf' to deposit metal, and then repeat the process. when you get the hang of it it will look a like a stack of dimes knocked over on the inside.
Parent - - By Superflux (****) Date 01-12-2008 01:57