Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / Weld Symbols
- - By DAVID 2 Date 01-25-2008 17:29
What is the most probable weld symbol on reinforcing steel ?  I am studying for the CWI exam and want to confirm the answer to this question ?

Thanks

Dave
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 01-25-2008 17:54
Dave,
Think about the shape of the rebar and the most likely configuration that would require welding of rebar......... ;-)
Parent - - By Kix (****) Date 01-25-2008 20:49
Round and a sculpture?  Round and a cattle gate?  Round and for a rusted out fender support?  I give up. ;-)
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 01-25-2008 21:34
Ray,
The welding of cattle feed troughs or cattle gates were not on the CWI exam when I took it many moons ago....LOL

You must have it confused with the Farm Code.....
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 01-25-2008 21:37
How about a flare-bevel groove weld?
Parent - By hogan (****) Date 01-25-2008 21:46
or fillet
Parent - By Kix (****) Date 01-27-2008 00:31
All the way around flare bevel grove weld.lol  I'm just funnin John..
Parent - - By Noel Tan (**) Date 01-29-2008 09:26
David 2,

for welding reinforcing steel bar, either double flare bevel (bar to plate) or double flare vee (bar to bar) is most probable.

Best Regards,
Noel Tan
Parent - - By ssbn727 (*****) Date 01-30-2008 03:38
Hi Noel Tan!!!